Skip to content

It’s Thanksgiving! – Music Video Breakdown

November 21, 2012

About two weeks ago, my friend, Ben Robinson III, raised my attention towards a music video called “It’s Thanksgiving” and it made me laugh so hard because it was fucking insane, weird and absolutely wrong at the same time.

Before you go on reading my review, I strongly advise you to go and watch the video, because then my review will make more sense to you and be warned, it is filled with obscenities.

What the heck is wrong with this train wreck?

First of all, who would write a song/make a video about a holiday. that in itself is controversial because of its history, to say the least, I mean celebrating the slaughter of a race is and always will be messed up, although today “Thanksgiving” is all about the family coming together “to have a good time”! –  *cracks up already*

The video starts out with Nicole Westbrook, a 12 year old, approaching her calendar to mark the wrong date for “Thanksgiving” and we can hear her moaning through our speakers, “Ooohhhh, yeaaaahhh!”.

Then we see her sitting on her bed, wearing a shirt that says “Dance Until Dawn”, which is still the most innocent part of it all, while she leads into the song by repeating constantly “oh, oh, oh”, as if she is trying to warn us of the things to come, then she says “Alright! Come on!” – Wait, what? Did I just get an invitation to have sexual relations with a twelve year old girl in her own bed, what the fuck?

Then she starts singing, still sitting on her bed, “I’m wide awake. And I should take. A step and say thank you, thank you.The things you’ve done. And what you did. Oh yeah. Uuu, yeah.” I don’t know where you are going with this girl, but I haven’t done anything to you, but I think I get an idea what the producer might have done to you in your own bedroom, I am glad it made you so thankful, he must be an awesome lover, maybe you should give me his number so I can see what all the fuss is about. Now let us all hear more about your year.

“December was Christmas. January was New Year. April was Easter. And the 4th of July, but now it’s Thanksgiving.”, blasts through our speakers, with Patrice Wilson, the producer & writer of this train wreck, singing, and I keep thinking, ‘Thanks for reminding us of all the other holidays you could destroy with songs like this.’ and we see her having “a good time” with all her friends on each of the holidays. But wait? Where are your parents little girl? I am sure they are going to appear any second in the video, they simply have to and if not, I must assume that the producer and you locked them away in the cellar, so you could have the place just for you, your gangbang group of friends and your man, but let’s see. *skips through video* Oh, ok. I think I saw two graves in the garden. Never mind, proceed.

She keeps singing “Oh oh oh it’s Thanksgiving. We we we we are gonna have a good time.
Oh oh oh it’s Thanksgiving. We we we are gonna have a good time.With a turkey, eh mash potatoes eh, and we we we are gonna have a good time.With a turkey, eh mash potatoes eh,
It’s Thanksgiving.It’s Thanksgiving. (alright)”, while we see her cooking on her own. At least she seems to be set for life, since she can put things out of bags into a pot and heat them up.

What makes me scratch my head though, girl, why do you keep singing about “having a good time” on your bed? I thought we have been over this, nobody should be interested in sexual relations with a 12 year old, it is against the law and I am pretty sure your producer knows about this as well. What are you trying to sell here? Whatever it is, I am not interested but carry on, I want to see how thankful you are for your producer.

“School is out, I can shout, thank you, thank you, thank you. No matter how you do, no matter what you say, this is my favorite.” Wow, at least we do know now that you are still attending school and don’t spend the time in between holidays at an abortion clinic, with all those babies your prodcuer must have *produced* with you over the years, that is what you are thankful for, isn’t it? Now, show us how thankful you are for that by twirling in front your house! Yeah! Thank you, thank you.

Wait, wait, wait, what did you just do inside the house? You just put a “Be Thankful”-card onto a lighthouse tower. *facepalm* Girl, you do know that that thing is a phallic symbol, right? I guess, you do because you are so thankful for him, sticking his wiener into you. Hey, don’t look at me like that, you started the whole “having a good time”-thing in your bedroom, I didn’t write the lyrics nor did I direct the video, be thankful for your producer for that.

This is the point where I want to punch my screen, scream and shout, ‘Make it stop, make it stop! What the hell were they thinking?’, but I can’t take my eyes off of this train wreck, it is too hilarious and shocking.

And then the producer/writer makes his first official appearance in the video and it is the guy, that brought us, Rebecca Black. I thought he would have learned his lesson from “Friday”, which he clearly did not. He is like the Uwe Boll (worst movie director) of the music industry and that explains the horribleness of it all, but doesn’t explain why he keeps using kids for his songs. With all the sexual undertones of the lyrics and the video itself, one can only assume that he is kind of messed up and the word “Pedophile” pops into our heads. With that in mind, let’s go back to the video, shall we?

We see all of the holidays rushing by again, this time with the producer appearing in all of them. Still no sign of her parents anywhere, like I said earlier, I think I saw two graves somewhere in the backyard and I am sure her parent’s bodies are turning in their graves, while their daughter, her gangbang friends and the producer are having a good time. At this point I am fairly certain that she calls that guy “Daddy”, at least three to four times per night and six times on Holidays! But hey, she is so damn thankful, he must be a wild beast.

Then he knocks on her door, she opens it and we see him standing there in a Turkey costume. Yeah, that is not creepy at all, because that is the normal thing to do on Thanksgivig, to dress up and have a good time. Maybe she is into that kind of stuff, I mean there are those people called “Furries”, who like to dress up as animals and have wild orgies, which would just add to the overall creepiness factor of this train wreck. And then we see them all sitting around the table, praying, being thankful for having each other and she starts rapping, because that’s what 12 year old white girls do nowadays:

“Yo. It’s Thanksgiving giving giving and I’m trying to be forgiving. (come on girl) Nothing is forbidden. You know we I gotta have. I gotta give thanks to you, and you, and you. Can’t be hateful, gotta be grateful. Gotta be grateful, can’t be hateful. Mash potatoes on my – on my table. I got ribs smelling up my neighbor’s cribs. (alright) Can’t deny Havin’ good times We’d be laughing till we cry” – Oh, Girl, I know that I am already laughing so hard that my eyes are losing liquids like crazy. and it is ok that we see the ribs eating cliché of a black dude at your table, thanks for that, I am so grateful and not hateful at all. I’m sure stuffing yourself with food after all that gangbanging going on in your house is natural, because you do need all the energy you can get to keep up with the stamina of your producer. Maybe we should hook you up to a nuclear power plant, that might be healthier and might help you to keep your figure.

Now bring it home girl! “It’s Thanks Thanks Thanks Thanksgiving Come on It’s Thanks Thanks Thanks Thanksgiving Give em Thanksgiving Yo!” and she picks up that turkey leg to use it as a microphone.*falls into by laughter induced coma and wakes up after a while*

Girl, this is another phallic symbol, just saying but I think you already know by now and don’t care anymore, because as you rapped earlier, “nothing is forbidden” but this clearly should be banned, burned, deleted, destroyed, excorcised.

The video nears its inevitable ending and I don’t think that I have to describe anything else that is wrong with this, because by this time we already know everything. I am creeped out by her smile at the picture of the thanksgiving gangbang, by the producer dancing in the midle of all those poor kids, he must have abducted from their loving homes to abuse them in this piece of garbage.

I know the people behind this video wanted to make it appear the least sexual and they might not have put these things in there on purpose but with a surpressed sexuality, their subconscious ended up putting these things in there, wanted or not. That is the only explaination for how this video came to be.

Patrice Wilson’s music is just plain awful and I am not someone with a musical background, I just know what is good and what isn’t. In my honest opinion, kids shouldn’t appear in such videos or sing songs written by adults and if producers feel the need to whore kids out, then they should do it in a way that doesn’t come off as shady as in “It’s Thanksgiving” – it just sends out all the wrong messages and vibes.

For those of you who made it through this, here is a parody of the song.

I wrote my own thoughts about the original before I was aware of this parody, which tells me that I wasn’t the only one picking up on these things, I didn’t even read the comments to the original video, to be as unbiased as I could and as original as I could with this review/breakdown of the “It’s Thanksgiving” video.

With all that being said, I hope you enjoyed this and had “a good time”. I feel like I am in need of a dolphin therapy now, because I was forced to watch this video like a million times in order to pick up as much of the things that disturbed me upon my first viewing as I could..

So now all what is left for me to do, is to wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving, have fun eating like crazy, enjoy the time with your loved ones, be thankful and have a good time. “Thank you, Thank you!” LOL

Dome Woo

2 Comments
  1. i really can’t believe that someone would put their name so prominently on this crap. going over which holidays occur in each month and calling it lyrics is not something i would admit to, let alone be proud of.
    the first thing you notice about this video is the lack of parents since Thanksgiving is customarily spent with the family. where are ANY of the parents of this group of 12-year-olds?
    and then when the only adult is a man who shows up to the door dressed up in a turkey suit… who would do this video and think that’s ok?
    and finally, when you make ribs for the black guy, because clearly that’s what black people eat, while the rest of you will have normal Thanksgiving fare.. really??? ugh!
    the whole thing is disgusting from top to bottom.
    Thanksgiving, indeed. i’ll be thankful when they stop making videos like this.
    thanks for pointing this out. even though it’s truly horrifying.

    • Well, but they did and I am blaming those kid’s parents for trying to create a new youtube sensation. It is very much like all the casting shows nowadays, but they keep forgetting that people don’t swallow everything that they put out there and they do it anyways.

      They say every publicity is good publicity, even if it is bad publicity. This girl is going to feel ashamed for this, regardless what her producers and parents think, because she wanted to become famous. “Fame”, that is all what people are after nowadays, no mater what the cost!

      I am just pointing out what others are afraid of, and I know that I am not just earning credits but also a backlash, because of my twisted sense of humor. To be honest, I was scared of how people would perceive this review, since I went totally over board with it but I couldn’t help myself. I am not a troll nor a bully, I am just seeing things for what they are.

      You are very welcome, and I am not afraid to point out was seems to be uncomfortable to others!

      Hugs and a Happy Thanksgiving, Chelsea, I wish I could spend it with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

