Skip to content

“The Raft – A short story of Change”

November 2, 2012

After all those physical changes I went through over these past two and half years, my mind seems to have caught up finally. Don’t get me wrong, change is good, even necessary but these drastic changes came (physically as well as mentally) with a price and adjusting to that took a while longer than I thought it would. A lot of people couldn’t handle these changes. because they had to deal with a total different person, so they jumped over board and I stopped throwing life buyos after them, because their weight would have just pulled me even further down and would have made me drown with them. I was on this island with my best friend Francis, a coconut, and I built a raft out of my hopes and dreams for the future, which became stronger over time to carry my weight across the ocean of confusion. Am I seeing the mainland, yet? A little but it is still a while away and I am wondering what I will discover when I get there. I am writing this on a palm leaf as a reminder, so I won’t forget where I were and where I am hoping to arrive. I know I am not the only one who has changed, the mainland did as well, I just don’t know if it is still the place I can consider my home. Whatever is written in stone, will be clean washed away by the tidal waves of confusion and once more I have to embark onto a journey into the unkown, to find my way through the labyrinth of life. – Dome Woo

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

