Skip to content

Mind the Gap – Why do I write?

November 1, 2012

Welcome to my blog “Mind the Gap”and I guess introductions are in order:

My name is Dome Woo aka Dominik Speicher. I am a gay male from Germany and I am going to turn 31 in less than a week and I love writing .
I started writing poetry, song lyrics and short stories, when I was about 14 years old, but I never was the type to keep a journal, because one day I would feel like writing, the next I would feel like ‘why even bother?’.

What changed?

Simple answer: I did, but that would be a copout. So here is the long version. I used to be morbidly obese and merely an observer to life that people were living, instead of being an avid “I have to go out to be around people”-type of person.
Back in late 2008, early 2009, I discovered youtube for myself and was asked to be part of a video-project as a vlogger, which helped me to rediscover my “artsy fartsy”-side and that expierence opened a whole a new world to me, which was the reason that I began to turn my life around, which is still a work in progress – I believe one is never done to constantly be challenged in order to become better than the day before.Β Here is the link to my last video on my personal channel: R.I.P. Jabba Dome – 1981 – 2010

What do I write about and why?

I write about a great variety of things, I am actually never able to tell you what is going on on my mind next, because it is not like I pick the topics, it is more like the topics pick me and my mind tries to fill in the gaps, the things that doesn’t make any sense to me, hence the titel of my blog “Mind the Gap”, maybe not that original, since that name had already been taken. *sighs* I am always late to the party!

What can you expect from my blog?

Short stories, opinion pieces and reviews (movies, tv shows/episodes, sometimes even music videos – let me tell you, I do have one in store but haven’t finished writing it yet, so stay tuned) .
Just be warned, I sometimes use profanities and I have to point that out: I do have a rather crude type of humor and I don’t mean any harm by it, but I know for sure, people will take offence. (Just take a look at my nickname “Dome”, I am fully aware of what that means in the U.S. – I taught myself English, over the past eleven years, because the fourteen years of English classes weren’t effecient enough for me. So please bear with me, even I get lost in translation sometimes.)

What I expect from you?

Challenge me and don’t just sit there and agree with everything I have to say. Telling me things like “Awesome!” or “You suck!” don’t matter to me, since they don’t make any sense in the context of what I do. That is just your subjective opinion but I want to pick your brains, I want you to feel part of this, so that it is not just me sitting in front of my screen typing away like a maniac and you either trolling your way into my life or out of it.

Now to the juicy parts – if you have made it this far, thank you for your time, because I am just getting started. Β Enjoy the things I wrote over the past ten days, two short stories and a couple of opinion pieces.

Will publish them shortly after this – my first blog entry.

Sincerely yours,
Dome Woo

5 Comments
  1. and now I’m following you! and I haven’t watched The Mist yet, but I will tonight or tomorrow and I’ll review it on my blog as you requested. πŸ˜›
    so excited to see more posted up here. πŸ™‚

    • Awww, thank you, I keep them coming, I have a lot to copy and paste from the stuff I wrote this month lol btw, I love the theme/design of your blog, wish I would know how to do that to my own, because I am liking it so effing much πŸ™‚ But how the hell do I find the follow button at your blog? Looking forward to your review of “The Mist” πŸ™‚

      • wow. i don’t have a “follow” link, do I? i’ll have to add one. XD and i’ll let you know what theme i use. even though it’s wonky and wants to center all my text. …but i’m too lazy to search for a new one. πŸ˜›

      • You seriously don’t have a “follow” link and I kept stalking your blog like cray cray πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Welcome to my personal Hellmouth! « Mind the Gap

Leave a Reply

